Busy with gnomes, guitars and pills…

15 Mar

019-2 copy

It’s been a week since we’ve posted anything on this blog. Life has been busy with fun things such as days off, extensive mother-daughter shopping, diner out with family and much more – meaning cakes.

There was also quite a bit of working involved in postponing the bunch of DIYs I have in mind, so I thought it would be fun to finally show you what I do for a living. You probably already know that I’m a cake artist. Now is the low season, but it is my favorite since all the cakes I am asked to make are crazy fun birthday cakes! No plain white wedding cake these days. More like bright colored sculpted ones – my favorite!!!

This gnome is so incredibly cute! Definitely one of my favorites lately… I wanted to keep him for myself!

035-2 copy

This is another one that I really like. I love the mix of bold colors and had so much fun carving the fist out of yummy chocolate cake (carving=lots of leftovers, hehe).

028-2 copy

This cake was for a set of twins; one is a paramedic, the other one is a nurse.

IMG_0915-2 copy

This 25 servings vanilla cake-chocolate ganache-hazelnut buttecream dino was so fun to make! I created it from scratch as I couldn’t find a triceratops picture that I liked and I am very pleased with the results. Isn’t he adorable?

009-2 copy

This one is my latest one. It was so tall it wouldn’t fit in the fridge.

051-2montage-2 copy

And last but not least, two little pretty ones! I love girly cakes! This was my first attempt at gumpaste orchids. The cake on the bottom is handpainted. I was for one of my girl friend’s birthday.

002-3 copy

I hope you have a beautiful weekend!

7 Responses to “Busy with gnomes, guitars and pills…”

  1. pangaweka March 15, 2013 at 14:46 #

    Wow! These are amazing!

  2. alligatortoe March 16, 2013 at 02:04 #

    Ditto – totally amazing! I especially love the first two, that gnome is so cute I could eat him up! (I know, I know, I’m sure you’ve heard that one before but I couldn’t resist!) ;)

  3. stephinthescreentime March 16, 2013 at 19:28 #

    These are all so good! I like the musical one the best!

  4. Lynn March 17, 2013 at 14:30 #

    oh can i ever relate to that busy feeling you’re talking about. yes and more yes!! spying this awesome array of cakes makes me smile large though. the Gnome one is epic and all kinds of awesome!! brilliant work, i’m in awe completely over your talent and creativity.

    • Chloé March 18, 2013 at 17:14 #

      Thank you! You’re so kind!

  5. tmvikholt March 18, 2013 at 18:34 #

    These are absolutely amazing!

Leave a comment